A quick note before we get started:

Many of the examples that are included in this book are my personal reflections and selections of evidence that I used for my accreditation. While I am happy to share these with you, it is important that you recognise that this way is not the only way of completing your Teaching Accreditation. You should always follow the advice of your teaching supervisor and principal, thoroughly read the supporting documents that have been compiled by the New South Wales Institute of Teaching (NSWIT), the Department of Education and Communities (DEC), Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership Limited (AITSL) and other agencies. This is not the only way to complete your accreditation; it is merely a guide to navigate you through the various stages.

One of the wonderful things about the teaching profession is that you are constantly learning and evolving as a professional. Teachers need to continue to develop their teaching skills. Many graduates lack confidence in their ability, but they are some of the most brilliant teachers that I know. They have innovative ideas and bring incredible insights to the teaching profession. The accreditation process is designed to ensure that a all new teachers achieve a standard of professional competence in their teaching practice.

Australian Professional Standards for Teachers contain three Domains: Professional Knowledge, Professional Practise and Professional Engagement. These three domains are common throughout each of the Key Stages.

How are the Australian Professional Standards for Teachers different from the state based standards?

Professional Knowledge (Standards 1 and 2)

This domain focuses on you, as a teacher, having thorough knowledge of the subject(s) that you are teaching. You must know how your subject(s) is linked to other Key Learning Areas (KLAs). Professional Knowledge also incorporates the appropriate implementation of effective teaching pedagogy. Professional Knowledge includes, but is not limited to an appreciation of the learning styles and backgrounds of the students that you teach. This may include an understanding of how students’ socio-economic status, religious or cultural beliefs and ideologies affect their ability to learn.

Professional Practice (Standards 3, 4, 5)

This domain focuses primarily on the process of teaching and the implementation of effective and engaging teaching programs, the organisation and delivery of lessons and the process of preparing classroom resources. This domain also focuses on the monitoring of student learning, and the effective implementation of assessments. A crucial component of this domain is the process of establishing an effective learning environment.

Professional Engagement (Standards 6, 7)

This domain focuses on your ability to critically evaluate your professional career and your on going professional development. It is vital that you display your commitment to continued learning within your profession. This domain highlights the importance of teachers working collaboratively with other colleagues. Each of the three teaching Domains, as outlined by the National Professional Standards for Teachers, highlights the crucial components of the teaching profession. Each of the three, while they have been organised into three distinct and separate domains, are intrinsically linked.

This is a basic breakdown of the three teaching domains. You will need to meet, and provide evidence for each in order to complete your teaching accreditation.

Whether you’re a casual teacher, permanently employed, working as a support teacher or on a temporary contract with your school, you are directly involved in educating, training and shaping some of the greatest minds that this world is yet to see.
^ Back to Top